How to Awaken Kundalini - ShatKarma Dhauti Basti Neti Nauli Trataka Kapalabhati

14 October 2007 by
How to Awaken Kundalini - ShatKarma Dhauti Basti Neti Nauli Trataka Kapalabhati
Holistic Care

Awakening Kundalini is a profound spiritual journey that requires desirelessness and a heart full of Vairagya (dispassion). Before attempting to awaken Kundalini, one must rise above the impurities of Kama (desire), Krodha (anger), Lobha (greed), Moha (attachment), Mada (pride), and other impurities. Here, we'll explore the traditional ShatKarma practices—Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Nauli, Trataka, and Kapalabhati—which are essential for preparing the body and mind for this awakening.

The Necessity of Purity and Knowledge

  • Purity First: A Yogi with a pure heart and mind free from passions and desires benefits greatly from awakening Kundalini. Without purity, attempting to awaken this energy can lead to physical and mental instability.
  • Theoretical Knowledge: A thorough understanding of the theory behind Kundalini awakening is crucial. While some argue that theory is unnecessary, neglecting it can lead to misguided practices and unnecessary suffering.

Methods to Awaken Kundalini

Kundalini can be awakened through various methods, each suited to different types of practitioners:

  • Hatha Yogis: Through Pranayama, Asanas, and Mudras.
  • Raja Yogis: Through concentration and mental discipline.
  • Bhaktas: Through devotion and perfect self-surrender.
  • Jnanis: Through analytical will and wisdom.
  • Tantrikas: Through the use of Mantras.
  • Guru Kripa: Through the grace of a Guru via touch, sight, or mere Sankalpa (intention).

The Journey of Kundalini

When Kundalini is awakened, it must be carefully guided through the Chakras to the Sahasrara Chakra to achieve Samadhi (spiritual liberation) and Mukti (freedom). This journey is challenging and requires perseverance, patience, and purity. Each Chakra presents unique challenges and requires specific practices to navigate.

Common Misconceptions and Mistakes

Many people misinterpret the practices and goals of Kundalini Yoga, leading to harmful behaviors and misunderstanding. True Kundalini Yoga is not about physical union or intoxication but about spiritual awakening and the ultimate union with Siva.

The Importance of ShatKarma

Before awakening Kundalini, one must achieve Deha Suddhi (purity of body), Nadi Suddhi (purification of Nadis), Manas-Suddhi (purity of mind), and Buddhi Suddhi (purity of intellect). The following six exercises, known as Shat-Karma, are essential for this purification process:

1. Dhauti

  • Antar-Dhauti (Internal Cleaning):
    • Vastra Dhauti: Swallow a clean, muslin cloth to cleanse the stomach.
    • Varisara Dhauti: Drink water and expel it through the anus using Nauli and Uddiyana Bandha.
    • Kunjara Kriya: Drink water and vomit it to cleanse the stomach.
    • Swallowing Air: Fill the stomach with air and expel it through the anus.
  • Bahir-Dhauti (External Cleaning):
    • Danta Dhauti: Cleaning the teeth.
    • Jihva Dhauti: Cleaning the tongue.
    • Karna Dhauti: Cleaning the ears.
    • Mula Sodhana Dhauti: Cleaning the anus.

2. Basti

  • Sthala Basti: Churning the abdominal muscles in Paschimottanasana.
  • Jala Basti: Using a bamboo tube to draw water into the intestines and expel it.

3. Neti

  • Thread Neti: Passing a thread through the nostrils to clean them.
  • Water Neti (Seet-Krama and Vyut-Krama): Drawing water through the nostrils and expelling it.

4. Nauli

  • Stages of Nauli:
    • Stage I: Uddiyana Bandha.
    • Stage II: Madhyama Nauli (central contraction).
    • Stage III: Vama Nauli (left contraction) and Dakshina Nauli (right contraction).
    • Stage IV: Churning the abdominal muscles in a circular motion.

5. Trataka

  • Trataka: Gazing at a fixed point or flame to improve concentration and purify the eyes.

6. Kapalabhati

  • Kapalabhati: A breathing technique that involves forceful exhalation and passive inhalation to cleanse the respiratory system and invigorate the mind.

Achieving Spiritual Goals

Combining these practices with the appropriate Sadhana (spiritual practice) tailored to the individual's needs is essential. The guidance of a knowledgeable Guru is invaluable in this journey. Awakening Kundalini and achieving union with Siva at the Sahasrara Chakra brings about Samadhi and Mukti, leading to ultimate liberation and spiritual bliss.

By understanding and incorporating these practices into your spiritual routine, you can prepare yourself for the profound experience of Kundalini awakening. Patience, perseverance, and purity are your keys to success on this transformative journey.

Share this post