Kundalini and Tantrik Sadhana Vedanta Hatha Raja Yoga

14 October 2007 by
Kundalini and Tantrik Sadhana Vedanta Hatha Raja Yoga
Holistic Care

Kundalini, a term familiar to all students of Yoga, represents a dormant energy in the form of a coiled serpent residing in the Muladhara Chakra, the first of the seven Chakras. These Chakras, in ascending order, are:

  1. Muladhara
  2. Svadhishthana
  3. Manipuraka
  4. Anahata
  5. Visuddhi
  6. Ajna
  7. Sahasrara

Awakening the Kundalini

  • Sadhanas (Practices):
    • Japa
    • Meditation
    • Kirtan
    • Prayer
    • Virtuous Living: Truth, non-violence, and continence

These practices aim to awaken the Kundalini and guide it through each Chakra, culminating in its union with the Parabrahman (the Absolute) at the Sahasrara Chakra. This union bestows liberation upon the aspirant who diligently practices Yoga.

"In worldly-minded people, given to enjoyment of sensual and sexual pleasures, this Kundalini power remains dormant. Spiritual practices alone can awaken it."

Kundalini and Tantrik Sadhana

Tantrik Sadhana is deeply intertwined with Kundalini Yoga. It emphasizes awakening the dormant Kundalini energy, personified as the Divine Mother, and guiding it to unite with Lord Sadasiva at the Sahasrara.


  • Japa of the Mother’s Name
  • Prayer
  • Rituals

Kundalini and Hatha Yoga

Hatha Yoga employs different techniques to awaken the Kundalini, focusing on the physical body and the regulation of Prana (life force).


  • Yoga Asanas (Poses): Toning the nervous system
  • Bandhas and Mudras: Controlling Prana
  • Kriyas: Purifying the body’s inner organs
  • Pranayama: Bringing the mind under control

"Through these combined methods, Kundalini is made to ascend towards Sahasrara, bringing the Yogi closer to spiritual perfection."

Kundalini and Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga offers a more subtle and philosophical path, focusing on controlling the mind and senses.

Eight Limbs of Raja Yoga:

  1. Yama (Moral Restraints)
  2. Niyama (Observances)
  3. Asana (Posture)
  4. Pranayama (Breath Control)
  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of Senses)
  6. Dharana (Concentration)
  7. Dhyana (Meditation)
  8. Samadhi (Union with the Divine)

Unlike Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga does not directly mention Kundalini but sets the mind and Chitta (consciousness) as its targets for control and destruction.

Kundalini and Vedanta

In Vedanta, the focus shifts from mystical practices to philosophical enquiry.

Core Beliefs:

  • Ignorance (Avidya): The root cause of bondage
  • Self-Realization: The ultimate goal
  • Unity with Brahman: Liberation through the realization of one's true nature as Sat-Chit-Ananda (Existence-Knowledge-Bliss)

"According to Vedanta, real liberation is freedom from ignorance and the realization of the Self as the all-pervading, non-dual, blissful spirit or Brahman."

The Ultimate Ascent

As the Kundalini ascends through the Chakras, the Yogi experiences progressively higher states of consciousness and divine knowledge:

  • Muladhara to Ajna Chakra: Step-by-step ascent through the Yogic ladder
  • Ajna Chakra: Vision of Personal God (Saguna Brahman)
  • Sahasrara Chakra: Union with the Supreme Self, achieving Sat-Chit-Ananda

"He becomes a Mukta, a liberated soul, conquering the eternal divine kingdom and crossing the ocean of ignorance."

Kundalini Pranayama, Tantrik Sadhana, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, and Vedanta together offer a comprehensive guide to awakening and ascending the Kundalini, leading to ultimate spiritual liberation. Each path provides unique methods and philosophies, but all aim towards the same goal—realizing the divine within and achieving oneness with the Supreme.

"Celestial beings envy him, not excluding the Trinity even, viz., Brahma, Vishnu, and Siva."

May you embark on this sacred journey with determination and grace, reaching the pinnacle of spiritual enlightenment.

Share this post