Nadi Ida Pingala Sushumna Nadi network of subtle prana

14 October 2007 by
Editorial team

In addition to the seven chakras of the subtle body, there is a network of subtle channels known as Nadis. Nadis carry pranic currents to all parts of the body. It is said that there are 72,000 nadis in our body out of which fourteen are principal nadis. Of these, Ida, Pingala and Sushumna are considered the most important.

{module [198]}

Pingala is the right channel.

Positive force – flow of vital energy.



represents the sun.

Originating in Muladhara, Pingala ends up in the right nostril.


The right channel (yellow) corresponds to our actions and planning, to our physical and mental activity. Its termination is the ego, which gives us the idea of I-ness, the sense that we are separate from the world.

Ida is the left channel.

Negative force – flow of consciousness.



Represents the moon.

Originating in Muladhara, Ida ends up in the  

left nostril.

The left channel corresponds to our past, emotions, desires, affectivity. Its termination is the superego, which is the storehouse of all our memories, habits and conditionings.


Sushumna is the central channel.

Neutral force – flow of spiritual energy.

The central channel is the channel of ascent, it is the power which sustains our evolution and guides us, consciously or unconsciously, towards the higher awareness of the Sahasrara (seventh chakra).

It is conduit for the kundalini energy that runs along our spine and up to the crown of our head.

Muladhara is the meeting place of the three main nadis and is known as Yukta Triveni (Yukta : "combined", tri : "three", veni : "streams"). The serpent lies blocking the entrance to Sushumna, the central channel with his mouth. Sushumna remains closed at its lower end as long as Kundalini is not awakened.

From Muladhara chakra, Ida and Pingala alternate at each chakra until they reach Ajna chakra where they meet again with Sushumna.

Share this post