Yamas : Behaviour restraints control Ashtanga Yoga- Eight fold limbs path Patanjali

14 October 2007 by
Editorial team

Yamas (Behaviour restraints)

Ethical guidelines for the yogi pertaining to her relationship with others in society, the outer environment, or Nature. All the yamas apply to actions, words, and thoughts. These are 5 in number

{module [198]}

Ahimsa (Non-harming)

Loving kindness to others, not blocking or obstructing the flow of Nature, compassion, mercy, gentleness. non-violence to all beings  

Satya (Truthfulness)

Being genuine and authentic to our inner nature, having integrity, honesty, being honourable, not lying, not concealing the truth, not downplaying or exaggerating. Truthfulness.

Asteya (Non-stealing)

Not taking what is not yours—money, goods, or credit. Not robbing people of their own experiences and freedom. Non-desire for another’s possessions, qualities, or status. Non-stealing.

Brahmacharya (Walking or having ethical conduct like God)

Relating to another with unconditional love and integrity, without selfishness or manipulation. Practicing sexual moderation, restraining from sexual misconduct, and avoiding lustful behaviour. Celibacy/chastity.

Aparigraha (Non-clinging)

Non-grasping, non-receiving, non-possessiveness, voluntary simplicity, not accumulating things beyond what is necessary, non-attachment to possessions, greedless ness. Non-covetousness.

Share this post