Laya Yoga : Anahata Sound Mystic

14 October 2007 by
Laya Yoga : Anahata Sound Mystic
Holistic Care

The Essence of Laya Yoga

Laya Yoga represents a profound state of mind where one forgets all sensory objects and becomes fully absorbed in the object of meditation. This state enables perfect control over the five Tattvas (elements), the mind, and the Indriyas (senses). Here’s a glimpse into the transformative power of Laya Yoga:

  • Control Over Mind and Body: The fluctuations of the mind cease, and the mind, body, and Prana are entirely subdued.
  • Effective Practices: Techniques like Sambhavi Mudra—where one concentrates intently on one of the Shat Chakras—play a vital role. Additionally, Trataka (concentration exercises) significantly contribute to success in Laya Yoga.
  • Achieving Samadhi: With consistent practice, the yogi establishes in Samadhi, attaining the state of Jivanmukta (liberated while living).

Anahata Sounds: The Mystic Melodies of Yoga

Anahata sounds, the mystic sounds heard during meditation, signify the purification of the Nadis (energy channels). These sounds, heard internally, are often termed Omkara Dhvani and emanate from the Anahata center of the Sushumna Nadi.

Hearing the Inner Symphony

  1. Preparation: Sit in your usual Asana, close your ears with your thumbs, and listen intently.
  2. Observing Sounds: Initially, you'll hear loud sounds which gradually become subtle. The mind becomes absorbed in these sounds, merging into them completely.
  3. Concentration and Absorption: The mind, detached from external impressions, becomes one with the sound, like milk with water. This leads to rapid absorption in Chidakasa (space of consciousness).

Different Kinds of Anahata Sounds

There are ten primary Anahata sounds that one might hear:

  1. Chini (a faint ringing sound)
  2. Chini-chini (a higher-pitched ringing)
  3. Bell sound
  4. Conch sound
  5. Lute sound
  6. Cymbals sound
  7. Flute tune
  8. Drum sound (Bheri)
  9. Double-drum sound (Mridanga)
  10. Thunder sound

Laya Through Various Concentration Methods

Laya Yoga can also be achieved through:

  • Nasikagra Drishti: Concentration at the tip of the nose
  • Bhrumadhya Drishti: Concentration at the space between the eyebrows
  • Meditation on the Five Tattvas
  • Mantras like Soham and Mahavakyas (Aham Brahma Asmi, Tat Tvam Asi)

Bhakti Yoga: The Path of Devotion

Classes of Worship

Bhakti Yoga encompasses various levels of worship:

  1. Element Worship: Worship of natural elements and departed spirits.
  2. Deva Worship: Worship of Rishis, Devas, and Pitris.
  3. Avatar Worship: Worship of divine incarnations like Sri Rama, Krishna, Narasimha.
  4. Nirguna Upasana: Worship of the formless Brahman, suitable for those with strong will and understanding.

Cultivating Bhakti

Bhakti can be cultivated through Nava Vidha Bhakti (nine methods of devotion):

  1. Sravana: Hearing the Lilas (divine stories) of God
  2. Smarana: Remembering God constantly
  3. Kirtan: Singing His praises
  4. Vandana: Offering salutations to God
  5. Archana: Making offerings to God
  6. Pada-Sevana: Attending to the feet of the Lord
  7. Sakhya: Developing a friendship with God
  8. Dasya: Serving God
  9. Atma-nivedana: Total self-surrender to Guru or God

Recommendations by Sri Ramanuja

Sri Ramanuja recommends specific practices to develop Bhakti:

  • Viveka: Discrimination
  • Vimoka: Longing for God
  • Abhyasa: Continuous thinking of God
  • Kriya: Doing good deeds
  • Kalyana: Wishing well for all
  • Satyam: Truthfulness
  • Arjavam: Integrity
  • Daya: Compassion
  • Ahimsa: Non-violence
  • Dana: Charity

The Pinnacle of Bhakti

In advanced stages of meditation, the worshipper and the worshipped, the meditator and the meditated, become one. This leads to Samadhi, a state of union with the divine.

Combining Sadhana for Success

Different paths to the same goal:

  • Hatha Yoga: Physical practices (Mudras, Bandhas, Asanas)
  • Jnana Yoga: Wisdom and knowledge (Sravana, Manana, Nididhyasana)
  • Karma Yoga: Selfless service
  • Bhakti Yoga: Devotion and self-surrender
  • Raja Yoga: Deep concentration and mind control

Combining these methods can accelerate spiritual progress.

Mantras: Awakening Kundalini

Mantras play a crucial role in awakening Kundalini. Mantras received from a Guru are powerful and effective. Aspirants should engage in Mantra Sadhana only after receiving a proper Mantra from a Guru. Mantras learned from books or friends do not produce the same benefits.

By integrating these practices and understanding their profound impact, aspirants can embark on a transformative journey towards spiritual liberation and supreme peace.

Share this post